CD Reviews

MusicWeb International

Webmaster: Len Mullenger

Reviewers: Tony Augarde, Steve Arloff, Nick Barnard, Pierre Giroux, James Poore, Glyn Pursglove, George Stacy, Bert Thompson, Sam Webster, Jonathan Woolf

[ Jazz index ] [Nostalgia index]  [ Classical MusicWeb ] [ Gerard Hoffnung ]

AmazonUK   AmazonUS


Live At Rosyís




Sarah Vaughan- vocals

Carl Schroeder- piano

Walter Booker- bass

Jimmy Cobb- drums


  1. Iíll Remember April (3:45)

  2. I Fall In Live Too Easily (3:43)

  3. Band Intro (1:30)

  4. East Of the Sun (And West Of The Moon) (3:09)

  5. A Lot Of Liviní To Do (2:14)

  6. Time After Time (3:46)

  7. Somebody Loves me (2:06)

  8. Poor Butterfly (4:58)

  9. A-Tisket A-Tasket (1:47)

  10. Send In The Clowns (6:00)

  11. Sarahís Blues (7:47)



  1. The Man I Love (4:45)

  2. I Got It Bad (And That Ainít Good) (5:12)

  3. Watch What happens (2:44)

  4. If You Went Away (Preciso Aprender A Ser So) (5:40)

  5. I Could Write A Book (3:01)

  6. I Remember You (5:02)

  7. Fascinating Rhythm (4:01)

  8. Everything Must Change (6:47)

  9. Like Someone In Love (2:41)

  10. My Funny Valentine (5:17)

  11. Ending Theme (1:08)



    This 2-disc set features Sarah Vaughan performing live at Rosyís Jazz Club in New Orleans, recorded on May 31, 1978. This music was originally recorded for the National Public Radio-syndicated radio program Jazz Alive. Sarahís long career began in 1943 at the Apollo Theater Amateur Hour in New York, where she was discovered by Billy Eckstein. She was an outstanding jazz singer and a master of improvisation who had an amazing voice that covered over three octaves, ranging from a female baritone to an operatic soprano, and she displays it generously on this album. Rosyís Jazz Club was a legendary establishment in the 1970ís, and played host to a number of top entertainers, including Count Basie, Stevie Wonder, and Ella Fitzgerald. Sarah sings here accompanied by a seasoned trio of musicians: bassist Walter Booker, drummer Jimmy Cobb, and pianist Carl Schroeder, who also doubled as Sarahís musical director. Carl accompanied Sarah for many years in the 1960ís and 1970ís, and also played with Art Blakey, Joe Henderson, and Chick Corea. Walter Booker was a ďdancingĒ bass player, known for swinging and swaying while he performed, and was famous for his rhythmic, high-pitched bass runs. He played with Sarah from 1975 to 1981, and also worked with Stan Getz, Cannonball Adderly, and many others. Drummer Jimmy Cobb worked with Sarah Vaughan for about nine years, and also performed with Miles Davisís bands, as well as Dinah Washington, Dizzy Gillespie, and Nancy Wilson. This album features the group performing an assortment of jazz and pop standards. Sarah scats an upbeat version ofIíll Remember April and follows it with a shuffling East of the Sun duet with Walter Booker on bass. She demonstrates her vocal range and gifts singing the Jules Styne-Sammy Cahn ballad Time After Time, reaching unbelievably high notes that come so easily for her, and Stephen Sondheimís Send In The Clowns with impeccable tone color, timing and voice control. Sarahís Blues features Sarah scatting on vocals, followed by instrumental solos by the band members. Some other tunes are not quite as successful. The group tries to swing their way through a slow arrangement of Michel Legrandeís Watch What Happens, and the results are mixed. The arrangement itself is poor, and the band sounds lost and distracted by the drummer overplaying the cymbals.

    A 36-page booklet is included with this set, with notes by Zev Feldman, James Gavin, Will Friedwald, and Rosy Wilson. The original recordings were produced by Timothy Owens for National Public Radio. George Klabin and Fran Gala performed the mixing and sound restoration, and Fran performed the mastering at Resonance Records Studios in Los Angeles.

    Bruce McCollum

Return to Index

You can purchase CDs, tickets and musician's accessories and Save around 22% with these retailers: