CD Reviews

MusicWeb International

Webmaster: Len Mullenger

[ Jazz index ] [Nostalgia index]  [ Classical MusicWeb ] [ Gerard Hoffnung ]

Reviewers: Tony Augarde [Editor], Steve Arloff, Nick Barnard, Pierre Giroux, Don Mather, James Poore, Glyn Pursglove, George Stacy, Bert Thompson, Sam Webster, Jonathan Woolf

To gain a 10% discount, use the link below & the code MusicWeb10




Trombonist Vic Dickenson (1906-1984) was born in Ohio and began his musical career in 1921 with the Elite Syncopators. He was a superb trombonist and excelled in both traditional jazz and swing. During most of the 1920ís Vic performed with various Midwestern bands, however he actually made his recording debut as a singer. Vic had a pleasant tenor voice with a lightly fluttering vibrato, and on Disc 1 he croons Honey, That Reminds Me with Luis Russell and His Orchestra. This tune was originally recorded on the Brunswick label in December 1930 in New York. The rest of this two-disc collection features Vic on trombone, performing with an assortment of bands between 1930 and 1961. His long career spanned over 60 years, with his last recording date in 1981. After Youíve Gone, a 1918 popular jazz standard, features Vic playing with Sidney Bechet and His New Orleans Feetwarmers, with Sidney on soprano saxophone, in a marvelous tune that begins slowly with the two horns trading the lead, then pianist Don Donaldson ups the tempo a notch, before the horns accelerate the pace once again. The tune originally appeared on a Victory disc recorded in December 1943 (V-Disc 270). Vic and Sidney also trade leads on a 1944 Blue Note recording of the classic St. Louis Blues, with Vic creating other-worldly tones on his trombone, while both men weave swinging melodies. Coleman Hawkins and His Orchestra featured Coleman on tenor saxophone, and he combines with Vicís creative trombone artistry as they take turns leading an easy version of the 1931 tune Iím Thruí With Love. The great jazz pianist Eddie Heywood appears with Vic and Edmond Hall with Edmondís Sextet on a 1943 recording of Downtown Cafť Boogie, which features outstanding solos by Eddie, Edmond on clarinet, Vic and trumpeter Emmett Berry. Vic growls and swings his solos on Please Donít Talk About Me When Iím Gone, with Bobby Hackett on cornet and clarinetist Gene Sedric taking lead turns. The song was recorded during a 1953 radio broadcast in New York. Vic also did well when he led his own ensembles. His Septet recorded I Cover The Waterfront in December 1953 on the Vanguard label with Edmond Hall, trumpeter Ruby Braff, Walter Page on double-bass, guitarist Steve Jordan, pianist Sir Charles Thompson, and drummer Les Erskine. The eight-and-a half minute recording is a slow, expressive reverie and the longest tune in this set. Vic and his Septet are joined by trumpeter Shad Collins to perform a charming swing version of an older popular tune, When You And I Were Young, Maggie, written by James Austin Butterfield in 1866. The song was recorded on the Vanguard record label in New York in November 1954. The last and latest song in this collection is Vicís Spot, written by Vic himself, and recorded with the Swingville All Stars on the Swingville label in New York in May, 1961. Clarinetist Pee Wee Russell and trumpeter Joe Thomas are also featured on this tune.

This collection has many excellent musicians and songs to enjoy. A 16-page booklet is including with these discs. Digby Fairweather provided the liner notes. Music was compiled by Ray Crick, and Martin Haskell provided final audio restoration and remastering. The overall sound quality is very good.

Bruce McCollum

DISC 1: (1930-1953)

  1. Honey, That Reminds Me [3:07] Luis Russell & His Orchestra

  2. Let Me See [2:44] Count Basie & His Orchestra

  3. After Youíve Gone [4:50] Sidney Bechet & His New Orleans Feetwarmers

  4. Downtown Cafť Boogie [4:19] Edmond Hall & His Sextet

  5. Uptown Cafť Blues [4:23]

  6. Everybody Loves My Baby [3:34] Sidney De Paris & His Blue Note Jazzmen

  7. Balliní The Jack [4:43]

  8. Whoís Sorry Now? [4:14]

  9. St. Louis Blues [4:46] Sidney Bechet & His Blue Note Jazzmen

  10. Iím Thruí With Love [3:12] Coleman Hawkins & His Orchestra

  11. D.B. (Detention Barracks) Blues [3:02] Lester Young & His Band

  12. Red Hot Mama [2:18] Pee Wee Russell & His Jazz Ensemble

  13. You Made Me Love You [3:07] Eddie Heywood & His Orchestra

  14. Sugar, That Sugar Baby Of Mine [3:23] Louis Armstrong & His Hot Seven

  15. Please Donít Talk About Me When Iím Gone [3:32] Bobby Hackett & His Band

  16. C Jam Blues [4:42] Sidney Bechet and Quintet

  17. Jeepers Creepers [12:02] Vic Dickenson & His Septet

  18. Keepiní Out Of Mischief Now [5:49]


    DISC 2: (1953-1961)

  1. I Cover The Waterfront [8:26] Vic Dickenson and His Septet

  2. The Ladyís In Love With You [3:52] George Wein & Jazz At Storyville

  3. When You And I Were Young, Maggie [4:48] Vic Dickenson and His Septet

  4. Nice Work If You Can Get It [4:38]

  5. Old-Fashioned Love [9:30]

  6. Wolverine Blues [5:07] Eddie Condon & His All-Stars Dixieland Jam

  7. St. James Infirmary [4:19]

  8. That Old Feeling [4:15] Pee Wee Russell & His Septet

  9. Basin Street Blues [4:04] Bobby Donaldson & His 7th Avenue Stompers

  10. Sunday [3:53]

  11. Oh, What A Beautiful Morniní [2:19]

  12. The Lamp Is Low [6:12] Vic Dickenson & His All-Star Jazz Group

  13. Undecided [4:42]

  14. Give The Lady What She Wants [5:34] Shorty Baker & The Mainstream Sextet

  15. Lover, Come Back To Me [2:47] George Wein &The Newport Jazz Festival All-Stars

  16. Vicís Spot [3:53] The Swingville All-Stars


Gerard Hoffnung CDs

Advertising on

Donate and get a free CD

New Releases

Naxos Classical


Musicweb sells the following labels
Acte Préalable
Cameo Classics
Northern Flowers
Toccata Classics

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Return to Index

You can purchase CDs, tickets and musician's accessories and Save around 22% with these retailers: