CD Reviews

Music on the Web (UK)

Webmaster: Len Mullenger

[ Jazz index ] [Nostalgia index]  [ Classical MusicWeb ] [ Gerard Hoffnung ]

Reviewers: Don Mather, Dick Stafford, John Eyles, Robert Gibson, Ian Lace, Colin Clarke, Jack Ashby

Crotchet Budget price

Mundell Lowe & Ray Brown


  1. Between the Devil & the Deep Blue Sea
  2. A Sleepin’ Bee
  3. Come Rain or Come Shine
  4. Stormy Weather
  5. Over the Rainbow
  6. Let’s Fall in Love
  7. Day Dream/Prelude to a Kiss
  8. Good Queen Bess
  9. Things Ain’t What They used to Be
  10. It Don’t Mean a Thing If It Ain’t Got That Swing
  11. Five O’Clock Whistle
  12. Come Sunday
  13. C Jam Blues

Andre Previn - Piano
Mundell Lowe - Guitar
Ray Brown – Bass

If ever a record had all the ingredients of success; it’s this one! Three master craftsmen of the music business playing the compositions of Harold Arlen, Duke Ellington and a few other great names. In no way does the performance disappoint, Andre Previn is in great form, he is probably the most comprehensive musician of the age, capable of exceptional classical piano concerts and world renown as a conductor of famous symphony orchestras. Unlike the majority of his classical contemporaries, the majority of whom could not bash out a decent 12 bar blues to save their lives, Previn is in the very top league of jazz pianists. The finest bass player the jazz world ever produced, the wonderfully talented Ray Brown, supports him. Mundell Lowe also plays his part beautifully in what I consider one of his finest performances.

Like Oscar Peterson, Previn favours the Bosendorfer piano and after listening to the combination of man and man and machine, the choice is a good one!

It is strange how this instrumentation for a trio, pioneered by Nat ‘King’ Cole works so well. Oscar Peterson and Andre Previn have alternated the third instrument between guitar and drums. The answer to, which is best, is probably that it depends on who the three musicians are.

In a recent edition of the always interesting Crescendo magazine Mike Hennessey listed his ‘Seven Deadly Sins of Jazz’, his sin No3 is that many talented jazz musicians are useless composers. That does not stop them from releasing whole albums of their own compositions, the majority of which are often never played again by them, let alone anyone else! If the likes of Andre Previn can avoid this temptation there has to be a lesson for others to learn. Few if any of us are likely to get anywhere the composing talents of Harold Arlen and Duke Ellington and these two composers alone wrote enough great tunes to keep us all happy for a long while.

To pick out any particular track of this album would be a travesty, they are all excellent and this album is a ‘must buy’ for all lovers of the jazz trio, this one gives virtuoso performances on every track!
Don Mather



    Error processing SSI file

    Return to Index

    Reviews from previous months

    You can purchase CDs, tickets and musician's accessories and Save around 22% with these retailers: