CD Reviews

Music on the Web (UK)

Webmaster: Len Mullenger

[ Jazz index ] [Nostalgia index]  [ Classical MusicWeb ] [ Gerard Hoffnung ]

Reviewers: Don Mather, Dick Stafford, Marc Bridle, John Eyles, Ian Lace, Colin Clarke, Jack Ashby




Columbia 516196 2



  1. Coast Road Drive
  2. Talkin’ Bout Love
  3. How Does it Feel
  4. She’s In Love
  5. Are You Mine
  6. Lost Without Your Love
  7. Confidential
  8. Swept Away
  9. Jump On It
  10. Stormfront
  11. Endless Journey

Peter White – Guitar & Keyboards

Each track has different personnel, but the album is very much the way Peter White wanted it to be. It is very much in the smooth jazz genre; the kind of stuff Jazz FM plays a lot of. It is strange music because it requires a high degree of musical ability to play, but in order to be smooth; it looses a lot of what jazz is about.

There are some fine tracks on this album, Christopher Cross’s vocal on She’s In love is very pleasant and Peter White’s guitar playing throughout is well worth a listen. If these guys would swallow all the synthetics and produce a jazz album, where everyone plays what they feel. I am sure that they would produce a product of more value than tracks like these, that take months to contrive, but in the end don’t add up to anything more that nice music to drive along to on a nice sunny day.

To me Smooth Jazz sounds wonderful in California or Florida or even on the Med., but in Coventry on a wet Wednesday! I’m not so sure! On the other hand, if Smooth Jazz turns you on, this is as good as it gets


Don Mather


    Error processing SSI file

    Return to Index

    Reviews from previous months

    You can purchase CDs, tickets and musician's accessories and Save around 22% with these retailers: