CD Reviews

Music on the Web (UK)

Webmaster: Len Mullenger

[ Jazz index ] [Nostalgia index]  [ Classical MusicWeb ] [ Gerard Hoffnung ]

Reviewers: Don Mather, Dick Stafford, Marc Bridle, John Eyles, Ian Lace, Colin Clarke, Jack Ashby




GRP 065 553-2


Richard Elliot – tenor saxophone with various musicians including Jeff Lorber & Rex Rideout – keyboards, Robbie Nevil & Tony Maiden – guitars, Ronnie Garrett – bass, Lil’ John Roberts – drums, Lenny Castro – percussion.

Recorded 2002



    1. Corner Pocket
    2. Ricochet
    3. Rendezvous
    4. Sweet Memories
    5. So Good
    6. Seven Sacred Pools
    7. Slam
    8. You Make Me Feel Brand New
    9. Sake For Two
    10. Sly

This, to my ears, is the type of music that gives the genre known as "smooth jazz" a bad name. Whilst there is absolutely nothing wrong with the playing of Richard Elliot in a technical sense, there is at the same time very little of that drive or inspiration which makes jazz the unique art form that it is. The whole disc is overproduced and there is realy very little to recommend it to any other than the most undemanding listener. It is always good to here another version of The Stylistics classic "You Make Me Feel Brand New" but having said this I feel compelled to advise the potential purchaser to search out some unheard works by Grover Washington Jr., Walter Beasley, David Sanborn or Dave McMurray.

I am sure this release will find its true home as background music in elevators or supermarkets. It seems a pity that a major label could not be more imaginative in terms of its new material.



Dick Stafford

Return to Index

Reviews from previous months

You can purchase CDs, tickets and musician's accessories and Save around 22% with these retailers: