One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,416 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             

We start where we left off in Garland 246 with some lesser-known figures from the English musical stage. John Storer, who was brought up in Scarborough (Yorks), composed two comic operas, The Punch Bowl, or The Royal Brew (1888) and Gretna Green (1888). The former was toured provincially, the latter reached the Opera Comique, but only for 16 outings.

Even at that period women composers from time to time had opportunities on the musical stage. I know little about Jennie Franklin, apart from the mere existence of her musical Cissy, also entitled Love’s Devotion, toured in 1890. The other two ladies in this paragraph both had a serious music background. Popsie Rowe, a descendant of Sir George Smart and sometime pupil of Sir Julius Benedict, the composer of The Lily of Killarney, write the score for the "romantic comedy opera" Jackeydora, or The Last Witch, which was reasonably successful when it was toured in 1890. And Julia Woolf, born in 1835, a one-time Royal Academy student who had previously confined herself to composing chamber music, piano solos and an overture to Shakespeare’s A Winter’s Tale, earned reasonable success in a lighter sphere when her Carina, or Twelve o’Clock ran for 116 performances at the Opera Comique in 1888. But she did not return to the stage.

Coming more up to date for our last name we remember the violinist Jack Rothstein (1925-2001) who played in, amongst other, the Boyd Neel Orchestra, London Mozart Players, Northern Sinfonia and The Academy of St Martin’s-in-the-Fields, as well as various salon orchestras not to mention playing for many years for TV’s The Last of the Summer Wine. His compositions included music for the TV serial The House of Eliot.

Philip L Scowcroft

January 2002

Enquiries to Philip at

8 Rowan Mount



Philip's book 'British Light Music Composers' (ISBN 0903413 88 4) is currently out of print.

E-mail enquiries (but NOT orders) can be directed to Rob Barnett at

Return to:   index page
                              Classical Music on the Web