One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,416 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             


We begin with Adrian Sutcliffe, pianist and keyboard player in the trio Classic Rhythm (its other players are a flautist and a percussionist) who play his arrangements and also original compositions, which include a Jazz Suite, Sunshine Island and some Variations on a Theme of Paganini (no prizes I think, for guessing which).

Now for two composers of the present day particularly associated with writing for brass ensembles: Richard Grantham, in demand for his brass band compositions; and Alan Gout, known for his Edwardian Suite for brass quintet.

Next, one addition to all those composers of 19th Century dance music which I have listed from time to time in a rather inchoate and no doubt incomplete manner in these Garlands. One R Layton composed, presumably among many other things, an Old Lindum Polka "Lindum" is of course the Roman name for Lincoln and, appropriately, I saw a copy of the piece in a display in the Museum of Lincolnshire life on a recent visit to Lincoln. The very helpful Museum staff were unable to confirm whether Layton was a local man as one might reasonably suspect; I noticed they had for sale a collection of early 19th Century dances compiled from traditional and other local sources by a local man.

Two more helots of the English musical stage were Norman Dannatt and, also known as a theatre director, Frances Essex, who between them provided the music for the show Cloakroom Ticket No 3, dating from 1953, but which did not however make the West End.

Finally, Albert Webb is worth a mention for his Grantchester Theme, published for piano solo by Frances Day & Hunter in 1959 and derived from music he wrote for a film, presumably a documentary about that Cambridgeshire village so rich in its literary associations.

Philip L Scowcroft

September 2001

Enquiries to Philip at

8 Rowan Mount



Philip's book 'British Light Music Composers' (ISBN 0903413 88 4) is currently out of print.

E-mail enquiries (but NOT orders) can be directed to Rob Barnett at

Return to:   index page
                              Classical Music on the Web