One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,416 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             


We start with Percy Godfrey (1859-1945), who was, despite his dates making him roughly contemporary with the third generation thereof, not a member of the celebrated Godfrey family, which we discussed in Garland 6. This fact did not stop Dan Godfrey II’s Bournemouth Municipal Orchestra featuring his music considerably in its programmes, often conducted by Percy himself. His works included a Symphony, a symphonic poem (or "symphonic ballad") and a Quintet for the same instrument combination as Schubert’s "Trout". In lighter vein he produced: a Coronation March (1902); an overture; a suite; Funeral March of the Teddy Bear; and a two movement "suite" for two violas, cello and piano entitled A Dream of Dresden China.

Now for four brief mentions of present day composers: Keith Morris, for his radio incidental music, most recently Laughter When We’re Dead (2001); John Pickard, for his brass band compositions, again most recently for the suite Men of Stone, which depicts four Neolithic sites in Great Britain; James McConnell, for his scores for film/TV documentaries including most recently, Exocet (BBC2, 2001); Steven Edis, for his theatre incidental music, including, again in 2001, that for the National Theatre’s revival of Vanbrugh’s The Relapse.

Finally to two equally brief allusions to instrumental works composed either side of the last war: A Funny Little Fairy Story (1934) for cello and piano, by Onslow Traherne; and Four Folk Fragments (1948), also for cello and piano, by Frederick Capon.

Philip L Scowcroft

July 2001

Enquiries to Philip at

8 Rowan Mount



Philip's book 'British Light Music Composers' (ISBN 0903413 88 4) is currently out of print.

E-mail enquiries (but NOT orders) can be directed to Rob Barnett at

Return to:   index page
                              Classical Music on the Web