Classical Editor: Rob Barnett

Music Webmaster
Len Mullenger:

MOZART: Flute Quartets   Emmanuel Pahud flute, Chrstoph Poppen violin, Hariolf Schlichtig viola, Jean-Guihen Queyras cello EMI CDC5 568292 [58.54]


Save around 22% with


Mozart's four flute quartets form a heterogenous collection which come from different years and locations during the late 1770's and 1780's when his city of residence and fortunes changed with bewildering frequency. The first two quartets were written towards the end of his period in Mannheim in partial fulfilment of a commission for the Dutch flautist, whom he refers to as "De Jean", but who was perhaps correctly W van B Dejong. The first quartet in D major is unquestionably the most inventive and satisfying to listen to. The first and third movements (Allegro and Rondeau) are sparkling and vivacious, whilst the central movement (Adagio) is a poignant flute solo in B minor supported by pizzicato strings. The whole work has all the tonal and structual integrety of Mozart at his best and thorougly deserves a more prominent place in the regular chamber music repetory; it rates alongside, for instance, the Clarinet Quintet.

The second quartet in D major has only two movements (Andante and Minuet) and may be the unfinished fragments of a projected 4-movement work.

The third quartet in C major has been stitched together by modern musicologists from disparate historical sources (thus being jointly numbered K.171 and K.285b). It is unclear whether its two movements truely belong together. It has a fully developed Allegro first movement followed a Theme & Variations which is a transcription of the sixth movement of Serenade for Wind in B flat. If the transcription is not by Mozart himself (and this is disputed), then the anonymous arranger displayed a skill equal to Mozart's own. To this listener, this flute and strings arrangement is actually preferable with the solo work generously shared by the flute, violin and cello in the different variations.

Quartet No. 4 in A major is either Mozart on a bad hair day or else a deliberate joke resembling (albeit much more subtly) "Ein musikalischer Spass". The term used in Roger Hellyer's accompanying notes is "perfunctory". It is not great music but it's fun. Enough said.

What makes this disc such a delight is the faultless brilliance of the Swiss prodigy Emmanuel Pahud; he brings to his playing all the characteristics that earned him the position of Principal Flautist with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra at the age of twenty two. The string playing of Christoph Poppen, Hariolf Schlichtig and Jean-Guiben Queyras is equally noteworthy. In all these quartets the honours are equally shared by all four instrumentalists. This is a splendid disc and deserves a place in anyone's Mozart collection.


Humphrey Smith


Humphrey Smith

Reviews from previous months

Reviews carry sales links
but you can also purchase

Return to Index