One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,416 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             


TESTIMONY - The Story of Shostakovich
Directed by
Tony Palmer

Testimony, based loosely on Shostakovichs own memoirs as related to and edited by his colleague, Solomon Volkov, is not just the story of a composer. In fact, the musical aspect of his life is only the sub-plot to a far greater drama, the relationship between Shostakovich and Stalin. Testimony is about Russia during the reign of Stalin. While politicians, generals, peasants, poets, Church leaders were being purged and destroyed - in all, some 31 million of them -Shostakovich somehow survived. How? Why? At what cost, personal as well as public? It is an amazing and awesome tale. It is also true.

Review by Rob Barnett

Writing credits
Tony Palmer
David Rudkin

Ben Kingsley .... Dmitri Shostakovich
Sherry Baines .... Nina Shostakovich
Magdalen Asquith .... Galya Shostakovich
Mark Asquith .... Maxim Shostakovich
Terence Rigby .... Joseph Stalin
Ronald Pickup .... Marshall Tukhachevsky
John Shrapnel .... Andre Zhdanov
Robert Reynolds .... Brutus
Vernon Dobtcheff .... Gargolovsky
Colin Hurst .... Stalin's Secretary
Joyce Grundy .... Stalin's Mother
Mark Thrippleton .... Young Stalin
Liza Goddard .... The English Humanist
Peter Woodthorpe .... Alexander Glazunov
Robert Stephens .... Vsevolod Meyerhold
William Squire .... Khatchaturyan
Murray Melvin .... The Film Editor
Robert Urquhart .... The Journalist
Christopher Bramwell .... Vanya
Brook Williams .... H.G. Wells
Marita Phillips .... Madam Lupinskaya

Produced by
Michael Henry .... executive producer
Grahame Jennings .... executive producer
Michael Kustow .... executive producer
Maureen Murray .... associate producer
Tony Palmer .... producer
Solomon Volkov .... consultant


Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

Chandos recordings
All Chandos reviews

Hyperion recordings
All Hyperion reviews

Foghorn recordings
All Foghorn reviews

Troubadisc recordings
All Troubadisc reviews

all cpo reviews

Divine Art recordings
Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

All APR reviews

Lyrita recordings
All Lyrita Reviews


Wyastone New Releases
Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month

November 2022
Bach Orchestral Suites

del Cinque
Del Cinque Cello sonatas

Fujita Mozart
Mao Fujita Mozart

Stanczyk Acousmatic Music


October 2022

Berg Violin Concerto
Violin Concerto Elmes

DEbussy Jeux
Debussy Jeux

Romantic pioano masters
Romantic Piano Masters

The future is female - Vol 2
Volume 2 - The Dance

impromptu harp music
Complete Harp Impromptus


Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.