One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,416 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             


Buy through MusicWeb for £11.25/12.50 postage paid World-wide. Immediate delivery
You may prefer to pay by Sterling cheque or Euro notes to avoid PayPal. Contactfor details

Purchase button

Süddeutsche Orgelmeister Vol. 3
J.S. BACH (1685-1750)
Concerto in D minor BWV 974 (after Marcello) [9:47]
Georg MUFFAT (1653-1704)
Partita in d minor [15:44]; Toccata 12 (Apparatus musico-organisticus) [7:50]
Johann Kaspar KERLL (1627-1693)
Capriccio sopra il Cucu [2:43]
Domenico ZIPOLI (1688-1726)
Toccata in d [4:56]; All’Elevazione [4:56]; Al Post Comunio [1:44]; All’Offertorio [1:54]
Johann Jacob FROBERGER (1616-1667)
Lamento sopra la dolorosa perdita della Real Majesta di Ferdinando IV, Rè de Romani [4:59]
Concerto in D major BWV 972 [8:47]
Heidrun Hensel (organ)
rec. St Jodok, Landshut, 27 April 2005. DDD

Heidrun Hensel is a former student of Klemens Schnorr in Munich and is highly active, not just as an organist, but also as a harpsichordist and continuo player with various groups. Here she presents a programme “tracing the Italian style in Bavaria” on the small Ahrend organ in Landshut. About the organ we learn little, not even the specification, which is a shame. Although clearly an organ by the great master organ-builder of his generation, Hensel does note that his style is slightly adapted to the Southern German Catholic sound-world through the use of “gentle, singing Italianate Principals with a relatively expansive range of sounds.” One of the most charming of these is the Voce Umana - or perhaps it’s a Piffaro? - so present in the ‘All’Elevazione’ of Zipoli – I haven’t come across one of these on an Ahrend instrument and it is, predictably enough, a beauty.
Hensel’s programme contains little truly idiomatic organ music. Most of it is manualiter, and much was probably intended for the harpsichord. This is fine and I don’t intend it as an implied criticism. None of the music sounds out of place, and Hensel’s playing is, without exception, neat, tidy, well controlled and featuring a beautiful touch. What I miss is on the one hand a little freedom, especially in the rather wooden Toccata Duodecima of Muffat, where the contrast between ‘real’ contrapuntal writing and free invention should surely be honoured in a more dynamic way, and on the other a certain ‘organic’ vocabulary of expression through articulation. This is especially prevalent in the slower movements of the concertos, both of which feature repeated chordal accompaniments, and both of which receive, as a result of Hensel’s approach, very equal accents. On the other hand her sense of intimate atmosphere in the Froberger Lamento for example is spot-on. It is also good to hear the music of the much-travelled Domenico Zipoli. These miniatures by him are so seldom played and yet contain so much good humour.
The booklet contains a slightly superficial interview with the performer, though it is interesting to get some insights into her approach to the music. It is a shame that as well as the lack of the information about the instrument, there is no explicit information about the music. On the other hand, the repertoire is relatively unusual, and the quality of Jürgen Ahrend’s instrument ensures that the ear never tires.
Chris Bragg


AmazonUK   AmazonUS


Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

Chandos recordings
All Chandos reviews

Hyperion recordings
All Hyperion reviews

Foghorn recordings
All Foghorn reviews

Troubadisc recordings
All Troubadisc reviews

all cpo reviews

Divine Art recordings
Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

All APR reviews

Lyrita recordings
All Lyrita Reviews


Wyastone New Releases
Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month

November 2022
Bach Orchestral Suites

del Cinque
Del Cinque Cello sonatas

Fujita Mozart
Mao Fujita Mozart

Stanczyk Acousmatic Music


October 2022

Berg Violin Concerto
Violin Concerto Elmes

DEbussy Jeux
Debussy Jeux

Romantic pioano masters
Romantic Piano Masters

The future is female - Vol 2
Volume 2 - The Dance

impromptu harp music
Complete Harp Impromptus


Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.