Classical Editor: Rob Barnett

Music Webmaster
Len Mullenger:

EDWARD MACDOWELL (1860-1908) Piano Music Vol. 2 James Barbagallo (piano) rec 2-5 May 1994, Santa Rosa, California NAXOS AMERICAN CLASSICS 8.559011 [59.59]

Save around 22% with

First Modern Suite
In Lilting Rhythm
Six Idylls After Goethe
Piano Sonata No. 3 Norse

The suite is a work of Lisztian tumult and display with Bach-like movements and a slumbering Andantino straight out of the Liszt and Chopin piano concertos. The finale ends busily in Bachian flight. There is an unassuming Amourette (Op. 1!) and the Lilting Rhythm twins are lovingly done without being terribly memorable. The Goethe Idylls are unexceptionable, though typically well-rounded, little character sketches.

The Norse sonata is only 17 minutes long. It is dedicated to Grieg and, not at all surprisingly, it is the Norwegian composer whose voice is the dominant influence. It dates from 1900 and its opening Mesto is broodingly dark. The central tristamente droops sadly while the finale has a fiery jauntiness.

Recommended for Macdowell completists.


Rob Barnett


Rob Barnett

Reviews from previous months

Reviews carry sales links but you can also purchase from:

Return to Index