Editorial Board

North American Editor:
(USA and Canada)
Marc Bridle

London Editor:
(London UK)

Melanie Eskenazi

Regional Editor:
(UK regions and Europe)
Bill Kenny


Webmaster: Len Mullenger





WWW MusicWeb

Search Music Web with FreeFind

Any Review or Article



Seen and Heard News Article




BBC Cardiff Singer of the World 2007: Details of the mext competion announced today. 10.11.2006 (BK)

NB: A Welsh text version is HERE


A press release from
www.mediasmith.co.uk announced details of the next BBC Cardiff Singer of the World competition today. Some changes to the competition include:

  • The winner�s prize money for the Main Prize increased to �15,000


  • Season booking forms now available


The worldwide search is on for opera�s rising stars to compete for the coveted title BBC Cardiff Singer of the World 2007 and a �15,000 prize.


Young singers from every continent are now taking part in auditions in the hope of being selected to represent their country in the world�s most prestigious singing competition.


BBC Cardiff Singer of the World is organised by BBC Cymru Wales in association with Welsh National Opera and the City and County of Cardiff.


The Competition�s musical adviser Julian Smith is travelling the globe to hold auditions enabling singers from every continent to stake their claim for operatic stardom. The 25 finalists will travel to Cardiff early next summer to sing at the National Concert Hall of Wales, St David�s Hall, before a panel of distinguished jurors and equally discerning audiences.


Julian Smith said; �Over 600 aspiring singers will be hoping to be selected to take part in the BBC Cardiff Singer of the World. Auditions will take place in venues ranging from Rio to St Petersburg and from Toronto to Melbourne. Those singers selected will have to demonstrate high levels of vocal talent, musicianship and communication skills.�

The series of concerts to find the 2007 recipient of opera�s greatest singing title will be held between Saturday, June 9, and Sunday, June 17.


The winner will follow in the footsteps of such operatic stars as Karita Mattila (Finland, 1983), Katarina Karn�us (Sweden, 1995) Dmitri Hvorostovsky (Russia, 1989), Lisa Gasteen (1991 winner) and the winner of the inaugural Lieder Prize in 1989, Wales� Bryn Terfel.



The 2005 winner of the biennial Competition, American Nicole Cabell, has shot to international stardom. The lyric soprano has signed an exclusive recording contract with Decca with her first solo recital album scheduled for release in 2007. In August 2006 Nicole made her BBC Proms debut in Britten�s Les illuminations and in September came her Royal Opera House d�but at the Barbican as Princesse Eudoxie in a concert performance of Hal�vy's La Juive.


The 2007 winner will receive �15,000 which is an increase in prize money of �5,000. The rewards for each of the four other finalists has been increased by �500 to �2,500. This has been made possible thanks to new sponsorship from the Richard Lewis Trust.The winner may also be offered high-profile engagements with both the BBC and Welsh National Opera.


The BBC National Orchestra of Wales, conducted by John Nelson, and Orchestra of Welsh National Opera, conducted by Carlo Rizzi, will accompany the competitors in the preliminary round concerts. The BBC National Orchestra of Wales will accompany competitors in the final.


BBC Cardiff Singer of the World Rosenblatt Recital Song Prize


The 25 contestants are also eligible to compete for the BBC Cardiff Singer of the World Rosenblatt Recital Song Prize. This competition takes the form of a series of four preliminary round concerts at the New Theatre, Cardiff, and a final at St David�s Hall.


The winner will receive a prize of �5,000 and may be offered a recital as part of the prestigious Rosenblatt Recital Series at St John�s Smith Square, London. The winner may also be selected to be one of BBC Radio 3�s New Generation Artists.


The accompanists will be Llŷr Williams, Simon Lepper and Phillip Thomas.


Masterclasses will also be held during the competition, led by such operatic legends as Renata Scotto, Brigitte Fassbaender and Siegfried Jerusalem on Saturday, June 16.


The St David�s Hall, TV, radio and online audience will again be able to have their say with the Audience Prize, sponsored by Visit Wales.


Booking details


Postal booking forms are now available for BBC Cardiff Singer of the World season tickets and the Rosenblatt Recital Song Prize Final at St David�s Hall and Rosenblatt Recital Song Prize season tickets, which include the four preliminary round concerts at the New Theatre and Final at St David�s Hall. Tickets can also be purchased for the Masterclasses at the New Theatre on Saturday, June 16. Booking forms are available from St David�s Hall Box Office on 029 2087 8444 or online at bbc.co.uk/cardiffsinger


On February 24, 2007, bookings open for all tickets, including individual concert tickets for the BBC Cardiff Singer of the World and the Rosenblatt Recital Series Song Prize. Bookings can be made in person or by post to St David�s Hall, The Hayes, Cardiff CF10 1SH, by calling 029 2087 8444 and online at stdavidshallcardiff.co.uk from February 24, 2007. A booking form can also be downloaded from bbc.co.uk/cardiffsinger


Seen and Heard hopes to report the entire competition this time and details of our coverage will be announced nearer the date.




Bill Kenny



For further information contact; Mike Smith, BBC Cardiff Singer of the World, Tel: +44 (0) 29 20 462686 Mobile: +44 (0) 7795 325161 Email:mike@mediasmith.co.uk Website: www.mediasmith.co.uk



Back to the Top     Back to the Index Page






Contributors: Marc Bridle (North American Editor), Martin Anderson, Patrick Burnson, Frank Cadenhead, Colin Clarke, Paul Conway, Geoff Diggines, Sarah Dunlop, Evan Dickerson Melanie Eskenazi (London Editor) Robert J Farr, Abigail Frymann, Gran Forsling, Simon Hewitt-Jones, Bruce Hodges,Tim Hodgkinson, Martin Hoyle, Bernard Jacobson, Tristan Jakob-Hoff, Ben Killeen, Bill Kenny (Regional Editor), Ian Lace, Jean Martin, John Leeman, Neil McGowan, Bettina Mara, Robin Mitchell-Boyask, Simon Morgan, Aline Nassif, Anne Ozorio, Ian Pace, John Phillips, Jim Pritchard, John Quinn, Peter Quantrill, Alex Russell, Paul Serotsky, Harvey Steiman, Christopher Thomas, John Warnaby, Hans-Theodor Wolhfahrt, Peter Grahame Woolf (Founder & Emeritus Editor)